Alaska Ballot Measure #8 establishes a state medical marijuana registry program. As such, patients are required to register with the state. Qualified patients must submit a physician statement from a medical marijuana doctor, a Medical Marijuana Patient Application Form, a copy of a photo ID, and $25 fee to the Alaska State Registry (or a $20 renewal fee). If applicable, written documentation of a caregiver, or alternate caregiver should also be included. After seeing a medical marijuana doctor and registering with the state, patients who possess a valid state ID card affirming that he or she suffers from a debilitating condition(s) is immune from state level criminal penalties on the use, possession, and cultivation of medical marijuana.